Class Day ’22 Awards Conferred, Seniors Recognized

By Wendy Plump
Tuesday, May. 24, 2022

The Great Class of 2022 chemistry concentratorsThe Department of Chemistry Class Day ’22 Awards and Recognition Ceremony was a joyful, in-person celebration held on Monday, May 23, 2022 to honor the 29 members of the Great Class of ’22 to receive an A.B. Degree in Chemistry.

Overseeing the ceremony were Department Chair Greg Scholes, the William S. Tod Professor of Chemistry; and Director of Undergraduate Studies Robert L’Esperance, who introduced the class and their Senior Theses projects.

L’Esperance also announced the Class of ’22 awards, honors, and prizes in the categories listed below. In addition, three awards were given to rising seniors. 

In addition, Sonja Angelique Francis, director of the General Chemistry Teaching Labs and a lecturer in chemistry, was named an honorary member of the Class of 2022 during a campus-wide Class Day celebration.

Congratulations to all graduates and award winners. 


American Institute of Chemists Foundation Award 
This award is based on a demonstrated record of leadership, ability, character, scholastic achievement, and potential for advancement of the chemical profession.
Awarded to: Nancy Tran
American Chemical Society - Division of Inorganic Chemistry Award 
This award is given for demonstrated excellence in inorganic chemistry based on any combination of research, coursework, and/or motivation/interest/dedication.  
Awarded to: Allana Iwanicki
American Chemical Society - Division of Organic Chemistry Award 
This award is given in recognition of a student who displays an aptitude for organic chemistry, and to encourage further interest in the field. 
Awarded to: David Ramirez
The Edward S. Wallis Prize 
This award is given for exceptional performance in all aspects of organic chemistry.
Awarded to: Noelle Goudy
The Malcolm H. Chisholm Prize 
This award recognizes the student who has written the best inorganic thesis. 
Awarded to: Seth Walensky
The Robert T. McCay Prize
This prize is awarded to the student with the best performance on a physical chemistry exam. 
Awarded to: Jeffrey Barzach
Sigma Xi Book Award 
This award highlights high aptitude for research in fields of pure or applied science. 
Awarded to: Vinh Ton and Ananya Vinayak
Inducted into the Sigma Xi Research Society 
Jeffrey Barzach, Sophia Goldberg, Noelle Goudy, Aliza Haider, Cassidy Humphreys, Allana Iwanicki, Karl Jackson, Nayef Kiame, Katryna Niva, Noah Pacis, Cecilia Panfil, Quinn Rademaker, David Ramirez, John Rezk, Adelina Rolea, Arianne Smith, Gabrielle Sudilovsky, Vinh Ton, Nancy Tran, Ananya Vinayak, Charlie Vrattos, Seth Walensky, Kaylin Xu, Mina Yu

Chemistry Department Honors
Sophia Goldberg, Aliza Haider, Cassidy Humphreys, Karl Jackson, Noah Pacis, Quinn Rademaker, John Rezk, Arianne Smith, Gabrielle Sudilovsky

Chemistry Department High Honors
Nayef Kiame, Katryna Niva, Cecilia Panfil, David Ramirez, Nancy Tran, Charlie Vrattos, Kaylin Xu, Mina Yu

Chemistry Department Highest Honors
Jeffrey Barzach, Noelle Goudy, Allana Iwanicki, Vinh Ton, Ananya Vinayak, Seth Walensky


American Chemical Society - Division of Analytical Chemistry Award 
Awarded to: Alev Studenikina
William Foster Memorial Prize in Chemistry 
Awarded to: André Koch Liston
Peter N. Curtin Class of 2008 Award for Excellence in Chemistry Research 
Awarded to: Neyci Guitérrez Valencia


Election into the Phi Beta Kappa Society
Jeffrey Barzach, Noelle Goudy, Vinh Ton, and Ananya Vinayak


The names of chemistry concentrators in the Class of ’22, their hometowns, and any additional external certificates appear below:
Jeffrey Barzach, Huntersville, North Carolina; Yanar Bitar, Allentown, Pennsylvania, Materials Science and Engineering; Yodahe Gebreegziabher, Addis Ababa, Ethiopia; Sophia Goldberg, Beverly Hills, California, Latin American Studies; Noelle Goudy, Philadelphia, Pennsylvania; Aliza Haider, Brigantine, New Jersey; Cassidy Humphreys, Gurnee, Illinois; Allana Iwanicki, Norwell, Massachusetts, Materials Science and Engineering; Karl Jackson, Portsmouth, Rhode Island, History and the Practice of Diplomacy; Nayef Kiame, Wayne, New Jersey; Jalah Morris, Zion, Illinois; Katryna Niva, Ringoes, New Jersey, Environmental Studies; Noah Pacis, Irvine, California, Materials Science and Engineering; Cecilia Panfil, Arlington, Virginia; Quinn Rademaker, Ocean City, New Jersey, Classics: Ancient Greek Language and Culture; David Ramirez, Stony Point, New York; John Rezk, Bayonne, New Jersey; Adelina Rolea, Princeton, New Jersey, Environmental Studies; Arianne Smith, Las Vegas, Nevada, Global Health and Health Policy; Fatoumata Sow, New York, New York; Daniel Strayer, Dayton, Ohio, French Language and Culture; Gabrielle Sudilovsky, Solon, Ohio; Vinh Ton, Austin, Texas, Global Health and Health Policy; Nancy Tran, South Plainfield, New Jersey; Ananya Vinayak, Gurugram, India; Charlie Vrattos, Marion, Massachusetts, Applications of Computing; Seth Walensky, Newton, Massachusetts, Hebrew Language and Culture; Kaylin Xu, Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada, French Language and Culture, Materials Science and Engineering, and Urban Studies; Mina Yu, Bogart, Georgia, Global Health and Health Policy, Creative Writing.