Seyedsayamdost and Petry named 2014 Pew Scholars in the Biomedical Sciences

By Tien Nguyen, Department of Chemistry
Thursday, Jun. 26, 2014

Mohammad Seyedsayamdost, assistant professor of chemistry, and associated faculty member Sabine Petry, assistant professor of molecular biology, are among 22 early-career researchers selected as 2014 Pew Scholars in the Biomedical Sciences by The Pew Charitable Trusts. Launched in 1985, Pew’s scholars program supports top U.S. scientists at the assistant professor level.

Scholars receive flexible funding over four years to seed innovation at the start of their independent research careers. Scholars are selected based on proven creativity by a national advisory committee composed of eminent scientists. Seyedsayamdost and Petry join a community of more than 500 Pew scholars whose ranks include multiple recipients of Nobel Prizes, Lasker Awards, and MacArthur Fellowships.

Research Areas