Home / News / 2017 Hubert N. Alyea Awards for Area High School Students

2017 Hubert N. Alyea Awards for Area High School Students

Awards- - By ctoddr
2017 Alyea Award Winners
2017 Alyea Award Winners in attendance: (l-r) Ivy Casieri; James Keane; Ans Nawaz; Stephanie Hu; Kathryn Wagner, presenter; Cathy Wu; Hannah Fried; and Stephanie Ji
Photo by C. Todd Reichart

The winners of the 2017 Hubert N. Alyea Awards were recognized and honored at the Alyea Memorial Demonstration Lecture on the morning of Saturday, June 3 in the Taylor Auditorium of Frick Chemistry Laboratory at Princeton University.

The namesake of the award, Hubert N. Alyea ’25, was Professor of Chemistry at Princeton University and world renowned for his scientific demonstrations, his enthusiasm and his love of scientific discovery. In his honor, an award for Princeton area high school chemistry students was established by Princeton University and the Princeton Section of the American Chemical Society.

The award is unique, leaving selection criteria to the discretion of the science departments of each participating high school. The one stipulation made by the Award Committee is that the award should not be based on test scores or grade point averages but rather should recognize the student who is most excited by scientific discovery, a character trait shared with the award’s namesake, Professor Alyea.

The awards were presented during the 21st annual Alyea Memorial Demonstration Lecture by Kathryn Wagner, Lecture Demonstrator in the Department of Chemistry, Princeton University.

2017 Award Recipients:

Hannah Fried, Princeton Day School
Germalysa Ferrer, Trenton High School
Stephanie Ji, West Windsor Plainsboro HS South
Cathy Wu, The Lawrenceville School
Ans Nawaz, Nottingham High School
James Keane, Lawrence High School
Ivy Casieri, Hopewell Valley High School
Alexander Liu, Montgomery High School
Stephanie Hu, Princeton High School
Kristen Lamke, Stuart Country Day School
Zhehao Tong, The Pennington School
Bowei (Peter) Dong, The Hun School

Congratulations to all!