Home / Diversity & Inclusion / Our Commitment

Our Commitment


Acknowledging that a broad representation of distinguished scholars provides the best foundation for excellence, the Department of Chemistry affirms its commitment to a diverse and inclusive environment. We support equity of access to opportunity and achievement for all members of our community regardless of race, nationality, religious affiliation, gender identity, sexual orientation, age, socioeconomic status, and disability status.

While chemistry is a natural science, it is first and foremost a human endeavor. A sense of shared experience and common purpose informs every aspect of our program. We bear a collective responsibility for each other’s well-being. We reinforce the goals toward that end expressed by Princeton University. We accept our role in promoting equity in academia and the broader culture in which our chemists work and live. And we extend to each member of our community the support, respect, and resources they need to realize their highest ambitions.

The individuals below are charged with oversight of this pledge.

Leadership Contacts

Primary Contact:
Susan VanderKam, Manager Diversity Initiatives and Associate Director, Undergraduate Program
[email protected]
Frick Laboratory, 284

Andrew B. Bocarsly, Professor of Chemistry
[email protected]
Frick Laboratory, 388

Jannette Carey, Associate Professor of Chemistry
[email protected]
Frick Laboratory, 360
Phone: 609-258-1631

Paul Chirik, Department Chair and Edwards S. Sanford Professor of Chemistry
[email protected]
Frick Laboratory, 292

Robert L’Esperance, Director of Undergraduate Studies
[email protected]
Frick Laboratory, A89
Phone: 609-258-1307

Erik J. Sorensen, Arthur Allan Patchett Professor in Organic Chemistry, Professor of Chemistry
[email protected]
Frick Laboratory, 132

Marissa L. Weichman, Assistant Professor of Chemistry
[email protected]
Frick Laboratory, 229

Administrative Contacts

Primary Contact:
Meredith LaSalle-Tarantin
, Senior Manager, Finance and Administration
[email protected]
Frick Laboratory, A24

Kim Dugo, Administrative Services Manager
[email protected]
Frick Laboratory, A54

Shafon McNeil, Undergraduate Program Administrator
[email protected]
Frick Laboratory, A22

Tiffiny Davis, Assistant to the Chair
[email protected]
Frick Laboratory, 121

Patti Wallack, Manager of Educational Programs, Outreach, and Events
[email protected]
Frick Laboratory, A21