Home / News / Annual Ceremony Honors Grad Student Awardees

Annual Ceremony Honors Grad Student Awardees

Announcements- - By Wendy Plump
Graduate students 2022
Princeton Chemistry's Graduate Student Awardees for 2022 in Frick Lab shortly after the ceremony. (Not pictured: Alessio Amaolo.)
Photo by C. Todd Reichart

The Department of Chemistry honored graduate students at its Annual Graduate Student Awards ceremony held in-person for the first time in three years on Friday, May 20 with Director of Graduate Studies Robert Knowles presenting.

The ceremony took place as part of the Princeton Chemistry Reunion program at Taylor Auditorium.

By tradition, the awards fall into three categories: First-Year Awards, based on GPA; Merit Awards, nominated by faculty; and Teaching Awards, also nominated by faculty. The winners and their labs appear below. Congratulations to all.

First-Year Academic Achievement

These fellowships are gifted to the Department by alumni and provide summer support to first-year students in recognition of academic excellence.

The Norman G. and Elizabeth Brink Graduate Fellowship in Chemistry
Chirag Arora (Scholes)

The Stephen P.A. Fodor *85 Graduate Fellowship in Chemistry
Anita Chen (Cava)

The Stanley A. Lefkowitz *70 Graduate Fellowship in Chemistry
Connor Pollak (Schoop)

The David V. Milligan ’62 Graduate Fellowship in Chemistry
Alessio Amaolo (Rodriguez – ECE)

The George B. Rathmann *51 Graduate Fellowship in Chemistry
Diego Granados (Knowles)

The Nat C. Robertson *42 Graduate Fellowship in Chemistry
Ava Hejzazi (Scholes)

Merit Awards

The Patchett Summer Fellowship in Chemistry
This award, provided by a donation from Dr. Arthur Patchett ’51, a former executive of Merck and Co. and an alumnus of Princeton, is granted to a senior student who has excelled at Princeton.
Lauren Mendelsohn (Chirik)
Nick Falcone (Sorensen)

The BMS Endowed Graduate Fellowship in Synthetic Organic Chemistry
*Details to come.

The Third-Year Seminar Award
This award is given based on feedback from fourth-year student judges in recognition of an exceptional third-year seminar presentation.
James Cox (Knowles)
Garry Liao (Hecht)

Teaching Awards

The Margaret & Herman Sokol Fellowship in Chemistry
This award recognizes outstanding work as a teaching assistant for a student interested in a career in teaching.
Nicholas Garcia (Sorensen)
Olivia Gary (MacMillan)

The Hubert Alyea ’24 Teaching Award
Granted in memory of Hubert Alyea, a renowned chemist and beloved Princeton instructor, in recognition of outstanding dedication and enthusiasm for undergraduate teaching.
John Barr (Rabitz)
Stephanie Dulovic (Bocarsly)

Pickering Teaching Award
Named in honor of Miles Pickering, who served as Director of our Chemistry Undergraduate Labs from 1981 until his death in 1991, recognizing excellence in undergraduate teaching in precepts and in the lab.
John Ambrose (201)
Savannah Carnahan (371)
Eric Guenes (301/304)
Brianna Hoff (207/201)
Andria Pace (201/304)
Scott Pedersen (301/304)
Calvin Spolar (201)
Yu Wang (301/304)
Mulan Yang (207/202)