Home / News / Annual Frick Ceremony Honors Grad Students

Annual Frick Ceremony Honors Grad Students

Awards- - By wplump

The Department of Chemistry honored graduate students at its Annual Graduate Student Awards ceremony held virtually on Monday, May 24 with Robert Knowles, Director of Graduate Studies, presenting. The awards fell into three categories: First-Year Awards, based on GPA; Merit Awards, nominated by faculty; and Teaching Awards, also nominated by faculty. 

“This yearly event recognizes outstanding achievements in coursework, research, and teaching – folks who have made big contributions to the department over the past year,” said Knowles. “I would also like to acknowledge the hard work and dedication of all the graduate students and postdocs over this very, very difficult year. Your efforts have been critical in allowing our teaching and research mission to continue under extremely challenging conditions.”

The winners and their labs appear below. Congratulations to all.


First Year Academic Achievement

These fellowships are gifted to the Department by alumni and provide summer support to first-year students in recognition of academic excellence.

The Norman G. and Elizabeth Brink Graduate Fellowship in Chemistry
Eric Geunes (Knowles)

The Stephen P.A. Fodor *85 Graduate Fellowship in Chemistry
Scott Lee (Schoop)

The Stanley A. Lefkowitz *70 Graduate Fellowship in Chemistry
Mulan Yang (Schoop)

The David V. Milligan ’62 Graduate Fellowship in Chemistry
Brianna Hoff (Schoop)

The George B. Rathmann *51 Graduate Fellowship in Chemistry
Scott Pedersen (MacMillan)

The Nat C. Robertson *42 Graduate Fellowship in Chemistry
Cherish Nie (Chirik)

The Department Citation for Academic Excellence
Eve Xu (Knowles)
Stephanie Dulovic (Bocarsly)
Wenxuan Li (Groves)

Merit Awards 

The Badin *45 Graduate Student Prize 
This biennial prize award is granted to a top second or third-year student based on coursework and research. 
Chase Kayrouz (Seyedsayamdost)

The Arthur A. Patchett ’51 Graduate Fellowship in Chemistry 
This award, provided by a donation from Dr. Arthur Patchett ’51, a former executive of Merck and Co. and an alumnus of Princeton, is granted to a senior organic student who has excelled at Princeton.  
Suong Nguyen (Knowles)
Tyler Pabst (Chirik)

The Third-Year Seminar Award
This award is given based on feedback from fourth-year student judges in recognition of an exceptional third-year seminar presentation.
Isabelle Leibler (Doyle)
Michael Smith (Koel/Sarazen)


Teaching Awards

The Margaret & Herman Sokol Fellowship in Chemistry
This award recognizes outstanding work as a teaching assistant for a student interested in a career in teaching and research.
Nick Falcone (Sorensen)
Marissa Lavagnino (MacMillan)

The Hubert Alyea ’24 Teaching Award
Granted in memory of Hubert Alyea, a renowned chemist and beloved Princeton instructor, this award recognizes outstanding dedication and enthusiasm for undergraduate teaching.
Michael Smith (Koel/Sarazen)
Shivaani Gandhi (Doyle)

The Pickering Teaching Award
Named in honor of Miles Pickering, who served as Director of our Chemistry Undergraduate Labs from 1981 until his death in 1991, these awards recognize excellence in undergraduate teaching.
Benito Buksh 
Amy Chan 
Yongick Cho 
Ben Hejna
Chase Kayrouz 
Carli Kovel 
Garry Liao 
Catrina Oberg 
Joseph Stiles 
Grace Villalpando