Home / News / Carter and MacMillan are 2018 ACS national awards recipients

Carter and MacMillan are 2018 ACS national awards recipients

Awards- - By Liz Fuller-Wright, Office of Communications

Emily Carter, dean of the School of Engineering and Applied Science, and associated faculty in the Department of Chemistry, won the ACS Award in Theoretical Chemistry, sponsored by the ACS Division of Physical Chemistry. She was recognized for her “pioneering development of orbital-free density functional, embedded correlation wave function, and efficient multireference wave function theories, applied to diverse sustainable energy phenomena and materials design.”

David MacMillan, the James S. McDonnell Distinguished University Professor of Chemistry, won the Gabor A. Somorjai Award for Creative Research in Catalysis, sponsored by the Gabor A. & Judith K. Somorjai Endowment Fund. ACS honored MacMillan for “his pioneering work in the development of organocatalysis, including fundamentally new methods based on radical intermediates, singly occupied molecular orbital catalysis and photoredox catalysis.”

Carter and MacMillan will be honored with the other award recipients on Tuesday, March 20, at the 255th ACS National Meeting in New Orleans.

Read the full story here: