Home / Department / Seminars & Events / 2018 Kurt M. Mislow Memorial Symposium

2018 Kurt M. Mislow Memorial Symposium

2018 Kurt M. Mislow Memorial Symposium

Thu, Nov. 1, 2018, 8:30am - 9:00pm
Edward C. Taylor Auditorium, Frick B02


Kurt M. MislowAn event celebrating the life, science and legacy of the late Kurt Mislow, the Hugh Stott Taylor Professor of Chemistry Emeritus at Princeton University and a pioneer in the theory of modern stereochemistry.

NOTE: Seating is limited for this event, and preference will be given to registered guests. Overflow video viewing of the event will be in Frick A57.




8:30 a.m. Check-In – Atrium of Frick Chemistry Laboratory

9:00 a.m. Welcome and Acknowledgments by Prof. Tom Muir, Van Zandt Williams Jr. Class of 1965 Professor of Chemistry; Chair, Dept. of Chemistry, Princeton University

9:20 a.m. Sir Fraser Stoddart, 2016 Nobel Laureate in Chemistry, Board of Trustees Professor of Chemistry, Director of the Center for the Chemistry of Integrated Systems, Head of the Stoddart Mechanostereochemistry Group, Northwestern University – Taylor Auditorium

10:20 a.m. Prof. Bart Kahr, Professor of Chemistry, Molecular Design Institute, New York University – Taylor Auditorium

10:40 a.m. Break

11:10 a.m. Dr. Cynthia Maryanoff, Distinguished Professor at the Baruch S. Blumberg Institute, Doylestown, PA – Taylor Auditorium

11:30 a.m. Prof. Jean-Pierre Sauvage, 2016 Nobel Laureate in Chemistry, Professeur émérite de l’Université de Strasbourg; Directeur de Recherche émérite du CNRS; Distinguished Visiting Scholar, Northwestern University – Taylor Auditorium

12:30 p.m. Lunch (for registered guests only)

1:45 p.m. Prof. Ada Yonath, 2009 Nobel Laureate in Chemistry, Martin S. and Helen Kimmel Professor of Structural Biology; Director, The Helen and Milton A. Kimmelman Center for Biomolecular Structure and Assembly; Structural Biology Department, Weizmann Institute of Science, Rehovot, Israel – Taylor Auditorium

2:45 p.m. Prof. James H. Geiger, Professor of Chemistry, Dept. of Chemistry, Michigan State University – Taylor Auditorium

3:05 p.m. Break

3:35 p.m. Prof. Devens Gust, Regents’ Professor Emeritus and Distinguished Sustainability Scientist, School of Molecular Sciences, Arizona State University – Taylor Auditorium

3:55 p.m. Prof. Dennis Dougherty, George Grant Hoag Professor of Chemistry, Division of Chemistry and Chemical Engineering, California Institute of Technology – Taylor Auditorium

5:30 p.m. Reception – Atrium of Frick Chemistry Laboratory

6:30 p.m. Dinner (for registered guests only)