Home / Department / Seminars & Events / Taylor Memorial Symposium

Taylor Memorial Symposium

Taylor Memorial Symposium

Mon, May. 6, 2019, 10:00am - 6:00pm
Taylor Auditorium, Frick Chemistry Laboratory

All symposium activities are open to the public, unless specifically noted.

The Princeton University Department of Chemistry presents a symposium honoring the research, service and life of Edward C. “Ted” Taylor, the A. Barton Hepburn Professor of Organic Chemistry, Emeritus, a distinguished member of the faculty of Princeton University from 1954 to 1997.




9:30 a.m. Check-In

10:00 a.m.  Prof. Tom Muir

Van Zandt Williams Jr. Class of 1965 Professor of Chemistry; 
Chair, Department of Chemistry, Princeton University 

Welcome and Acknowledgments 

10:10 a.m. Cynthia Maryanoff, Ph.D.

Distinguished Professor, Baruch S. Blumberg Institute, Doylestown, PA 

In Memorium: Edward C. Taylor, Teacher, Scholar, Inventor

10:30 a.m. John Macor, Ph.D. 

Head of Global Integrated Drug Discovery, Sanofi 

How I Spent My Summer Vacation: Insights From a 30-year Career in Drug Discovery (And Molecules That Have Broken My Heart) – Dedicated to Prof. E.C. ‘Ted’Taylor

11:00 a.m. Prof. Peter A. Jacobi 

Professor of Chemistry, Dartmouth University

A Few of Ted’s Favorite Syntheses

11:40 a.m. Homer Pearce, Ph.D.

Eli Lilly and Co., Lilly Research Laboratories (Retired)

The Princeton-Lilly Collaboration to Discover New Drugs to Treat Cancer 

12:15 p.m. Lunch (for registered guests only)

1:00 p.m. Prof. Huw Davies

Asa Griggs Candler Professor; Director, NSF Center for Selective C-H Functionalization (CCHF), Emory University 

From Heterocyclic Chemistry to C-H Functionalization: A Long Journey Started in the Taylor Laboratories 

1:40 p.m. Prof. Stephen Martin 

June and J. Virgil Waggoner Regents Chair in Chemistry; Editor for the Americas of Tetrahedron, University of Texas at Austin 

Gap Jumping: Using Chemistry to Address Unmet Medical Needs in Neuroscience 

2:20 p.m. Wendy Young, Ph.D.

Senior VP Small Molecule Drug Discovery, Genentech 

Delivering Innovative Medicines: Small Changes Can Have a Large Effect 

3:00 p.m. Break

3:20 p.m. John Warner, Ph.D.

Co-founder, Warner Babcock Institute for Green Chemistry, Wilmington, MA 

Green Chemistry: Inventing a Sustainable Future 

4:00 p.m. Prof. Dennis Liotta

Executive Director, Emory Institute for Drug Development; Samuel Candler Dobbs Professor, Emory University 

Novel Therapeutics for Treating Viral Diseases, Cancers and Inflammatory Disorders 

4:50 p.m. Prof. Paul A. Wender 

Bergstrom Professor of Chemistry, Professor of Chemical and Systems Biology, Stanford University 

Function Oriented Synthesis: Progress Toward HIV/AIDS Eradication, Treating Alzheimer’s Disease and Enhanced Cancer Immunotherapy 

6:00 p.m. Reception 

6:15 p.m President Christopher Eisgruber 

President of the University. Laurance S. Rockefeller Professor of Public Affairs in the Woodrow Wilson School and the University Center for Human Values 


7:00 p.m. Dinner (for registered guests only)