Home / News / Doyle and Groves 2015 National ACS Award Recipients

Doyle and Groves 2015 National ACS Award Recipients

Awards- - By ctoddr

August 20, 2014. Washington, DC. The American Chemical Society (ACS) today announced its 2015 National Award Recipients, and among the honorees are two members of the departmental faculty: Abigail Doyle and John T. Groves. All recipients will be honored at an awards ceremony on Tuesday, March 24, 2015, in conjunction with the 249th ACS national meeting in Denver.

John T. Groves, Professor and Hugh Stott Taylor Chair of Chemistry, will receive the ACS Award in Inorganic Chemistry sponsored by the Aldrich Chemical Company, LLC. The purpose of the award, established in 1960, is “to recognize and encourage fundamental research in the field of inorganic chemistry.” Nominees must have accomplished outstanding research in the preparation, properties, reactions, or structure of inorganic substances, with special consideration given to independence of thought and originality. 

Abigal Doyle, Associate Professor, will receive the National Fresenius Award sponsored by Phi Lamda Upsilon, the national chemistry honor society. Founded in 1899, Phi Lambda Upsilon was the first honor society dedicated to a single scientific discipline. This award, established in 1965 and named in recognition of Carl Remigius Fresenius, honors outstanding chemists early in their professional careers who have attained national recognition in the areas of research, teaching and/or administration.