Home / News / MacMillan elected to National Academy of Sciences

MacMillan elected to National Academy of Sciences

Awards- - By Princeton University Office of Communications

David MacMillan, the James S. McDonnell Distinguished University Professor of Chemistry, has been elected into the 2018 membership class of the National Academy of Sciences. MacMillan is among six Princeton University faculty newly elected to the academy.

The National Academy of Sciences is a private, nonprofit institution that was established under a congressional charter signed by President Abraham Lincoln in 1863. It recognizes achievement in science by election to membership, and — with the National Academy of Engineering and the National Academy of Medicine — provides science, engineering, and health policy advice to the federal government and other organizations.

Members are elected to the National Academy of Sciences in recognition of their distinguished and continuing achievements in original research. Membership is a widely accepted mark of excellence in science and is considered one of the highest honors that a scientist can receive. Current NAS membership totals approximately 2,300 members and nearly 470 foreign associates, of whom approximately 190 have received Nobel prizes.

More here: